Logo Università degli Studi di Milano


21–23 settembre 2017: Emotions, Imagination, and Time

Centre for Philosophy of Time


Workshop on Emotions, Imagination, and Time

21–23 settembre 2017, Palazzo Feltrinelli, Gargnano del Garda, Italy


The Department of Philosophy at the University of Milan (Centre for the Philosophy of Time) and the universities of Modena, Lancaster and York  are are pleased to announce the workshop Emotions, Imagination, and Time, to be held from the 21st–23rd September, at the Palazzo Feltrinelli, Gargnano, Lake Garda, Italy.

Confirmed Speakers:

Carla Bagnoli (Modena and Reggio Emilia, Oslo)

Davide Bordini and Giuliano Torrengo (Milan)

Clotilde Calabi and Nick Young (Milan)

Laura Candiotto (Edinburgh)

Dorothea Debus (York)

Julien Deonna (Geneva)

Christoph Hoerl (Warwick) and Theresa McCormack (Queen's University Belfast)

Rob Hopkins (NYU)

Clare Mac-Cumhaill (Durham)

Kevin Mulligan (Geneva)

Sabine Roeser (TU Delft)

Cain Todd (Lancaster)

Imagination and the emotions have been subjected to intense philosophical scrutiny, but less attention has been paid to the fact that both are inherently temporal mental states. They can be directed at the future or the past: we can anxiously imagine what a future event will be like, or ruefully imagine what we could have said in an awkward situation. They also unfold over time: a bad mood can dissipate as the day goes by, we can imagine our favourite artwork for the length of time it takes the elevator to arrive. This workshop explores the temporal aspects of emotion and imagination, and how they relate to perception, rationality, aesthetics, and moral judgement.   



Accommodation is available for attendees at the Palazzo Feltrinelli (250 Euros for three nights, including catering) although places are limited. Transportation between Milan and Gargnano can be arranged for the day before and final day of the conference (see also http://www.gargnanosulgarda.com/tourist-service-lakegarda/how-to-reach-gargnano.html).   



  • Carla Bagnoli
  • Davide Bordini
  • Clotilde Calabi
  • Dorothea Debus
  • Cain Todd
  • Giuliano Torrengo
  • Nick Young


  • Anna Ichino
  • Francesco Guala
  • Samuele Iaquinto
  • Andrea Giananti
  • Daniele Cassaghi
  • Jack Shardlow
  • Allison Fernandes
  • Kris Goffin
  • Andrea Borghini
  • Roberta Locatelli

General Commentators 

  • Sanna Hivonen
  • Julien Dutant
  • Angelica Kaufmann
  • Patrick Engisch
  • Christopher Gifford


State University of Milan (15-5-3007000-601), Fondazione Cariplo-Regione Lombardia (15-6-3007000-2021), Philosophy of Time Society, Department of Philosophy (State University of Milan), Department of Philosophy (Wake Forest University), Thomas Jack Lynch Philosophy Fund.

21 settembre 2017
Torna ad inizio pagina